Displaying for end of year marking & Refinery Exhibition

I had a think about how I wanted to display my works. The piece was created to be viewed online for my portfolio, so I feel that it needs a simple fresh and contemporary display.  A Brand new flat screen TV will be perfect. Will suggested I approach an appliance store and ask if they will sponsor me – buy lending me a new TV to display my video on.

I typed out a short letter with information to take with me to Power Store, my first choice. It is a local business – which is great to support. Here is the letter –  Support for B

Will also typed out a very professional excellent letter which I took to them. They are happy to support me lending me a TV which not only plays my USB, it will play it on LOOP, so there is no need for a DVD set up and in the way. I have chosen a smaller TV 32″ as it is less expensive with less risk – should something happen. It will also fit on the only available Plinth I have, which Symen the wonderful technician at NMIT has made me.

We will be setting up in the Studio this Thursday at 1pm for marking, I’m hoping the Plinth is ready if not I will set it all up except for the plinth until I can get it in by Monday’s

3:30pm marking deadline.

I will be placing the TV on a white plinth or a plinth with a white sheet over it. The plinth will be in front of a white wall which will have the contextual statement pages attached to it. There will be a power source above, I have checked with Klaasz (another tutor) and I can use one of the NMIT extension cords which have already been safety checked.

So that the Tutors can easily turn on the video I will write down easy instructions for them – on a piece of paper (this will also be handy for people at exhibition for turning it on and off)

Now all I have to do to complete this 604 paper is set up my works for marking, assemble my process work to submit, complete the Refinary Exhibition, and finish this blog about it all along with my final thoughts.. 🙂

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 604. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

