Filming.

The weekend of the 6th and 7th of September was spent filming my children Eliana who is seven and Archie, five. I took them out to some scenic places around Nelson. I wanted to get to the beach, the river, a place of flowers and spring blossoms.

We went firstly to the little park on Alfred Street, where I had previously seen some pretty spring blossoms. I filmed the kids while they were at play naturally using the tripod. We then headed to the Maitai river where I battled not only keeping up with the children, (just as I had set up the tripod and camera settings the children had moved!) but the pesky sand-flies too.

Time was getting on and I really wanted to capture the children at the beach with the setting sun. We made it to Tahuna beach and I shot some great footage with the children in the sand and waves.

Once home that Saturday night I wanted to review the footage so I could see what I needed to improve on and capture the following day. I noticed that I needed to keep the camera much more still.. even slight composition adjustments and movement was very distracting. I also wanted to create some more interesting compositions, shooting the children through objects.

On the Sunday I took the kids out to Isel Park where I would find lots of spring flowers including the famous tell-tale symbol of Spring, the daffodil. Isel Park was full of opportunities with lots of interesting things to shoot through and amazing colours. The end of day light was fabulous.

Once I had all the clips from the weekend I put them onto a hard-drive and took them in to show Will on Monday 8th September. Will and I went over some of the clips and he gave me some much needed advice on where to start. So many clips I just didnt know what to do. Will reminded me of the star rating system in Camera Raw. This would help me to cut back on the clips.

I then spent the last week viewing the clips over and over. I rated the clips out of 5 stars on one day, the next I deleted anything that was 2 stars or under. Then on another new day I reviewed the clips and discarded any that were under 3 stars. With the remaining clips that were 4 stars and over I cut out the best frames. Stringing all the remaining frames together I reviewed them over and over on different days yet again. Its amazing what a fresh perspective you can get on a new day. I went about deleting until I was left with only 3mins and 30secs of total footage. I payed around with the speed on a few frames but left it 95% straight out of camera.

I took that piece of strung-together footage and put it onto a memory stick to present to my critique group on Monday 15th September.

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 604, Experimenting & Editing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

