Changes.. 5th Sep

After I decided to cut down my idea much smaller and more manageable I saw Will on Monday to talk to him about it. 

We talked about a new plan:

  • Use just my children – as they are easy to access and always available. 
  • Focus on metaphors: Hands – reach out, touch, your hand is and extension of you, its how you connect. A hand breaking surface of water, Feet – grounding on nature. Barefoot in leaves, sand, the notion of connecting with the ground. Tension – foot stamping. 
  • Gregory Crewdon – look at the way he creates tension in his art. 
  • Focus on tight crops
  • Dreams 

Will sent me some good links this one on movie metaphors- 

Movie Metaphors Worth Puzzling Over

I esp love the one from the Shinning with the maze. 

At this early stage in the film, nothing seems too out of whack at the Overlook. But Danny and Wendy are entering a terrifying labyrinth from which there is no easy exit. Jack, looming over the maze like a giant or a puppeteer, almost tips his hand; “you’ve always been the caretaker here,” Grady will tell him later, and indeed, this scene makes him out to be the master of whatever bizarre ceremony we are about to witness. Of course, it also foreshadows the film’s famous climactic scene, in which a nearly unrecognizable Jack chases Danny through the maze with an axe.

shinning

Another link Will shared which is good is this one to a book piece on dreams and anxiety – something I should look into more esp since I want to create a bit of tension in my piece. 

Psychology for Screenwriters By William Indick

Will also shared with me a video for 

Eb And Sparrow – Quietly We Tread

This video is brilliant it is exactly the kind of style I want to emulate. Tight crops, low winter sun, haze, slightly out of focus at times, interesting compositions. 

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 604. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

