Critique one

IMG_3047IMG_3048

 

Today we had our first critique session. I used this opportunity to gather some more heads (6 peoples to be precise) as I have hit a bit of a brick wall.

images

 

Image retrieved 12/8/14 from http://wallpaperscraft.com/download/texture_brick_wall_82476/1920×1200

I decided to present my work so far with the questions ‘how can I create a narrative?’, ‘does it have enough of a narrative already’ and ‘what do the scenes make you think of?’

Some of the comments I had were:

The scene of the man is like he is drowning in his work.

The women is a mother and she is amongst chaos and destruction.

Pink Floyd and the wall – dream like.

Could the people perhaps be linked by having a dinner around a table but their minds are somewhere else.

Could they be in reality, then go to their dreams and bring something back to reality with them? – Sand in the mans shoes, wet pants?

The girl scene brings thoughts of abandonment, bullying/being bullied, rejected, abducted, lost.

I was also told that people will make their own narrative. That it doesn’t have to be obvious.

I will now think about all this helpful feedback and digest it. I will try to figure something out.

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 604, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

