Casting Call

I have put the model call out for one male part and one female part. I have had a great response and now have interviews with some very experienced actors/actress and some lovely unique looking people.

I have 6 potential males and 5 females to interview.

I will meet them and see if their look and personality fits with my concept.

I have sent the following proposal to candidates:

Hello and thank you for offering your assistance with this project. 

Im a 2nd year Bachelor of Arts and Media student. My usual media is photography you mightve seen my work here on my facebook page:
This semester for one of our papers we are required to create our own brief. I have chosen to try my hand at moving imagery (film)
The concept:
I would like to create a 2-4min video based on the surreal and dream-like scenarios. There will be 3 scenes – 
Scene 1 – A man 20s-30s, slim tallish, with beard maybe? He must be ok with getting his feet wet! Wearing glasses and a business suit sitting at an office in the sea. He will be in about mid calf depth in the water typing at a type writer or computer and drinking coffee. Waves will be washing over his feet and under the table. 
Location – sand spit Tahuna beach. 
Scene 2 – A women in her late teens-20s, unique beautiful look, fragile. She will be wearing a nightie, slippers and dressing gown and making a bed in the quarry/or forest.  She will be making the bed, and getting into it and sleeping. 
Location – Brook/Maitai Valleys Nelson.
There will be close up and long distance shots. 
Scene 3 – A little girl (My 7yr old daughter will be playing this part) she will be in an abandoned industrial building playing with a baby goat, eating ice-cream, and drawing. 
Location – The old meat-works in Stoke. 
All of these scenes could change as I have to finalise the story boards.. these are the preliminary ideas that I have worked out. All scenes will focus on blank and in thought facial expressions. Slow fragile movement.
The piece will be about 2-4 minutes long. There will be no talking as it will be set to music. The music I have been kindly given permission to use will be one of these three choices:
Theme from ‘Blackspot’ by Jeremy Cullen – https://soundcloud.com/jbcullen/theme-from-blackspot-feature-film-1
 Prologue from ‘The Priest, the Witch and the Poltergeist.’ by Jeremy Cullen – https://soundcloud.com/jbcullen/prologue-from-the-priest-the
I will  be taking still photographs through out of all the scenes to accompany the piece. These images will be able to be used for my submission and my portfolio.
The final clip will be submitted for my Degree and also posted online, Vimeo, Jessica Shirley Photography facebook page. It can not be used in anyway for commercial or porfit as the music for the clip has been kindly donated and from an audio book and film.
Being a student I have’nt much money so trying to do the whole thing under $100-$200. I cant afford to pay you, but you can have all the images for your portfolios. 
I intend this to be a beautiful and peaceful surreal piece of moving imagery.That will be fun to create for everyone involved. 
Filming for each scene will be done over a max of 3 days each day being about 4hrs  long between the hours of 2-6pm It might only take 1 or 2 days but have allowed for 3days. 
These days could be in the weekend or weekday depending on when suits everyone. 
Filming will be scheduled between 25th August 2014 – 28th September. 
If you are interested in being involved with this project please get back to me with a time for me to meet you before Fri 15th August. I am available Afternoons between 12-2 monday -friday or this weekend. 
Look forward to hearing from you
Kind Regards
Jessica Shirley
Ph: 5467364 or cell: 0211452417
A  model release and contract will be drawn up for the chosen actors. Who I will confirm by the end of next week.  I will thank all the others who didnt get the part this time and ask to keep them in mind for future projects.
I only have one male part and one female part which I have 11 people to choose from… going to be a hard decision as they all are wonderful…
About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 604, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

