Tuesday 5th August – 1st draft proposal due.

This morning I met with Jose which was really helpful, I was in despair. I had never been in a situation like this before my first project proposal was due this afternoon and I had no theorists or theories to base my project on, I didn’t even have a narrative, or a solid concept.

After showing Jose what I had and telling her what I didn’t have, she gave me some sound advice…

She said I am missing the ‘WHY?’ Im missing the questions? whats the purpose? function? What do I want to ask as an artist? What is my question?

What do I want to communicate?

Hmm seems so logical? why did I not think about this myself. I have all these great skills in visualising aesthetically pleasing images but I don’t have the ability yet to find reasoning BEHIND these images.

I talked to Joce about a design brief/project proposal. I had gone for a design brief as I thought this would be the easiest way to be able to create a beautiful video with less of a need for too much theoretical background. What she helped me to realise is that I need to practice my background thinking into reasoning for my artwork. Choosing to do a artist project proposal over a design brief will push me to extend my intellectual thinking abilities within my artwork.

Ok so I am choosing  to create a Artist Project Proposal NOT a design brief. I am going to run with the idea of using my daughter Eliana for the main model/actress for my video clip. Eliana is very accessible. I will keep it simple with 1-2 scenes.

So where to from here… Joce suggested I think about starting with..

My project proposal is about X?? X is what I need to find out.

She said my lists are great that I have made conceptual brainstorming.. perhaps I can think of Emotional register/state.

I could think about ‘What isn’t it?’ this will help me to narrow down ‘What is is’.

So I went home and thought hard about what I want my project to be about…

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 604, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

