Inspire me – researching moving imagery.

I have started looking for new and inspiring imagery as well as looking over some of my favorite clips.

The following examples excite me in some way:

True Detective  – This is the intro for a TV series I watched. It uses double exposure which and diminished hues. It’s industrial gritty theme along with the music appeal to me.

Tove Lo Stay High – This song and clip are raw and real. I would like to create something raw and real. I like the way this clip is shot.

Sia – Chandelier – The set of this clip and the quirky moves of the girl inspire me.

Shakira – Empire – There are some scenes in this that are very beautiful, the burning wedding dress and dancing in an abandoned area with candles around. I like those two scenes. I also like the colours of the first scene.

Another Chance – This clip is a great example of my thoughts of creating “IT” to carry around with me I film myself going about life with the monster on my back. This clip shows a lady walking around with a giant heart. I like the physical example of demonstrating emotions.

Spoek Mathambo – I have always had a fascination with old style graveyards. This is a great setting and theme, high contrasting between the skin tones and clothing. I love the use of the flours and liquids in white being poured and thrown over black skin. The binary opposition of the speaker phone in the graveyard is yet another form of contrast in this strong clip.

Pulp – This is hardcore – Im attracted to the ‘fake’ old school filming, femme – noir, 1940s styling of this clip.

Ryan Fielding – Ryan Fielding was originally from Nelson and now resides in Wellington creating videos. I like his style.

Prom Night – Celia Rowlson-Hall – I really like the concept of this video.

Radiohead – Street Spirit – Possibly one of the best videos of its time made this is very creative. The slow motion scenes in it are very well played.

All In White – The Vaccines – I really like the settings in this clip.

Wetsuit – The Vaccines – I really think this clip is similar to something I could create. I like the fast paced mix of still images along with moving.

One Day – Asaf Avidan – What draws me to this song is the real energy and spark that you get watching it. I also like the camera angles. I feel this video clip really captures the song.

Some bigger musical super stars with bigger budgets:

Rihanna

We Found Love – What I love about this one, is the lighting, the camera compositions I love the fact that some of the footage has purposefully been left out of focus to convey mood. Moving projections over Rihnannas body look awesome.   Close up shots right into the eyes, wet long hold of shots, all make this a great clip.

Stay – I like the simplicity of this clip. Its all about emotion. Close up shots.

Lorde

Royals – This again is something I could perhaps create. Simple again. Lovely still shots of everyday locations. Everyday people. I enjoyed the shot of the person swimming in the rain.

One of my favourite artists is Lana Del Rey –

Ride – This is a great piece of film, its a long music clip at 10mins. I really like the song and its meaning I find it raw and thought provoking. Beauty and Beasts kind of feel. I feel the clip complements the song well.

National Anthem – I like the style of this clip, gritty monotones with high saturation Lomography styles. Gorgeous lighting. This again I feel is something I could create.

Bon Iver

Skinny Love – Home video style, filming out of moving car window. Lovely natural ambient footage.

Calgary – This is one of my favourite videos. Its very dreamy which is something Im drawn too. I love the contrasts between soft skin and mud. I love the way the camera takes you into how it would really feel. Beautiful high key lighting. Softness mixed with strong lights and darks.

 

 

 

 

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 604, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspire me – researching moving imagery.

  1. raggedpoet says:

    Love that Radiohead clip… I have a film I want to make, I came up with the concept years ago when a mate and I were going to enter the Banff Film Festival, but it needs very specific scenery and probably a pilot – one day…! Lots of inspiration for you here Jess…is yours going to be a music video? You could ask the music department if any of them want to perform maybe… just a thought, and that way you wouldn’t have copyright issues with music…

  2. Hi Bobby,
    Yes its awesome aye so much great inspiration! Yes my friend is friends with the music tutor at NMIT and suggested I do the same. Its a great idea I will def look into. 🙂
    Still havent got much of a solid idea what I want to do yet.. but yes I will want it to music.

Leave a Reply

