21st July 2014 – 1st meeting with Will my tutor.

I met with one of my tutors Will today and went over the two ideas I had thought about over the mid semester break. Yes they are good ideas but while talking about them I realised they didnt really shout out at me 100%. But I only really began to think this way about these ideas when I was disguising them with Will. I have done a lot of identity self portraiture with my photography, its something I am comfortable with and know I can do well. I have also already created a logo and the idea of making a website is something that Will said is a big undertaking it would take longer than 15wks, if I was to do it well. I agree. 

I talked about really wanting to move things up to the next level and learn new skills so as to really maximize my time at NMIT. One thing I notice is that there is a real need for competent film makers out in the workforce. I often meet people who want to know if I can work with video. Im really drawn to creative cinematography, it excites me. I see a lot of great music clips and tv/films that inspire me. I would like to try to create some moving imagery. 

Will was about to suggest I create something with film too. After working on the slide show I proved to myself that I can learn new programmes and branch out more. It’s really the natural progression for me now to try this and give it a go. 

Will mentioned:

some software: i movie – but because I want to work on my pc I could work with Adobe Premiere. 

Where to go from here…

Research some past cinematographer greats… Stanley Kubick, Jonathan Glazer and Clockwork Orange, Music Videos…

Work backwards and reference everything to the theme I want to portray.

Use my SLR camera

Film some ambiance – take a long time filming one person on the beach.

Go easy on myself! Dont try too harder task.

Google Drive is a great place to sort my trail videos.

Time to start the researching and find myself a theme for this video.  

 

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 604, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

