Feedback & Making Corrections – The long weekend…

Feedback

  • Some people said that the spelling and grammar mistakes could seem as devaluing the people in the slide show.

I did put a lot of thought into whether or not to correct the hand-writings in this project –  I thought that I would leave them as is for authenticity. I made a few small changes, like removing crossed out mistakes. But left largely as is, as I felt it gave a true replication of the individuals. But having heard this feedback I felt the need to change it, to correct all the spelling errors and some of the more noticeable grammar mistakes. I didn’t in anyway want anyone to think of the people as devalued at all. Now this is a real matter of opinion and a very arguable critique. As some people will feel like it has taken away a persons individuality and made it too academic. It was a call I had to make and I went with giving the people pride and respect by the larger majority.

  • This slideshow could be seen on Nelson’s ‘i-site’ building – it seems very much a tourism advertisement for Nelson. Perhaps a different question could have been put forward to the people? a question that generated less generic answers.

This is a very interesting piece of feedback. It could be looked at in two different ways, one being a positive; advertising Nelson isn’t a bad thing – something Nelson Tourism will love. But then perhaps on the flip side it is less creative and a bit ‘staged’ looking even if that was not my intention. This is not something that I can change at this late stage, but not sure if I want to either.. It would be very interesting to think about how the project would look and the feel of it had a different question been asked.

This last weekend has been engulfed by editing at my computer. I sent through my images and writings to someone to proof read and I also looked over them myself many, many times. Came back with at least 50% of the text needing some kind of editing. It was a massive job, I not only had to correct the white text on black for the slide show, but also the images with the text layered directly onto the photographs.

I posted the images last week onto my Jessica Shirley Photography page, which was a good idea to do so at this stage as there were a few incorrect writings on incorrect photos that the models were able to point out to me.

facebooik 1 fb2

I also created a UTube clip of the slideshow using Minuits song Aotearoa. I had good feedback about the clip which was 22mins long being too long for UTube. As it was created for the Light Nelson show which is a 4hr event I made it 22mins so that everyone who was standing viewing it (if they decided to stand and view it) had a chance to read the writings. But on UTube 22mins is far too long, people just dont have the patience to sit through something that long. It is also different when you are up close at a computer screen. So I created a clip especially for UTube it is only the length of Minuits song Aotearoa. I was able to speed the slideshow up to fit the song.

utube

I think creating this UTube clip was a great idea to gain exposure for the project and my work. It also enables the work to live on long after Light Nelson.

 

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 603, Project 3 - Light Nelson. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

