Tuesday 10th June – Progress Report

Tuesday morning I meet with one of my tutors Klaasz. I took in my finished slide show to show him. He made the suggestion of dropping the title ‘A Nelson Project’ his reasoning was it is too broad, and it doenst need that title. He said it can start from the slide that says ‘100 Nelsonians were asked why they love Nelson’ I agreed with him and have since dropped that title for the slide show.

He helped me change the file from a wmv to a quick time, but the problem was that power point was compressing the file too much and my movie was very pixelated. I decided to take the file home and try it on my own TV to see. When I went home it was really bad quality, so I googled how to make a loop DVD from a wmv file on my windows 7 pc. Well turns out I have DVD maker in my home computer. I was amazed that I was easily able to make my own loop DVD at home. I must say I was very pleased and it was super easy… I did it all on my own with no help, feeling super!

Things just kept getting better…as not only did the DVD play on my DVD and TV but I was able to work out how to set my DVD player to loop.

I better not question it, things are going fantastically! I now have a finished looped DVD and a DVD player that will repeat the DVD over and over for the Light Show. 

Next I took my DVD player, extension cord and double plug along with the DVD to NMIT. I was able to get help taking the NMIT TV out and putting it on to the plinth to test how it will fit. It fits really well, just needs to be raised about 10cms, Simon said that should be fairly easy to sort by building something to go under the plinth. Simon also got my DVD running through the TV. 

I took some photos on my iphone, not very easy to see during the day, but you can just see how well the TV fits behind the window. 

Image

Kay mentioned getting one of the movable walls to place in front of the back of the TV to close off the back of my exhibit and also block it off from Lees work, Lee a fellow student will be having a light exhibit not far from mine.  I will bring down a wall on Fri and see how it works. 

Image

All and all I am very happy, things are really working I cant wait until this Friday night to see it after dark. 

 

 

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 603, Experimenting and Editing, Project 3 - Light Nelson. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

