Editing 100 images and adding a text layer.

Once I had taken my 100 photographs I needed a efficient way to add the text to them.

I scanned all the writings and created a folder for them.

I use Photo Shop CS6 for all my image processing.

  • I open an image>filter>smart sharpen. This sharpens the image.
  • curves adjustment layer to create a lighting style I like.
  • saturation adjustment layer to create level of saturation that suits my style.
  • I open the text I want from my scanned writing file.

If I am creating black text on an image I will simply cut and paste the text onto the image and change the blend mode of the writing to multiply.

Editing 1

If I am needing to change the colour of the text to white I will first need to select the sentences of text I want to use then make a layer copy

Image

I will then open a new document and drop the text layer onto that, I will then go to select>colour range and make sure the eye dropper is placed on the white background.

Image

Once I have selected the text I will go to select>inverse to select only the text. I will then drop it onto my image then change the colour of the text to white which involves going to Layer>layer style>colour overlay.

There I have my white text I will lastly flatten the image and save. At present I am saving all as PS docs so I can go back and edit if I need to. I also save them in large size jpegs, I can go back and re-size them if I need to.

 

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 603, Experimenting and Editing, Project 3 - Light Nelson. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

