Theorists and underlying messages of project.

The requirement of this project is to interpret and represent the theme of ‘Habitat’ throughout the duration of the project , culminating in the exhibition of our work to the wider community ‘Light Nelson’ exhibition.

Define ‘culminating’ – ‘reach a climax or point of highest development.’ retrieved https://www.google.co.nz/#q=define+culminating 24/5/14

Interpret and represent the theme of ‘Habitat’

I have mind mapped the word ‘Habitat’ and have decided to explore the branch – Habitat>Groups>People.

I will be exploring the ideas of:

  • Togetherness
  • Communication
  • Connection
  • Home

These ideas are all under the umbrella of our habitat, where we as a population of humans live, how we live, and why we choose to live where we do. It also works into a theme of the fact that we are all linked to each other that eventually our circle of community comes back to us.

Togetherness

Part of my project is based on the importance of togetherness,

The state of being close to another person or other people – Retrieved 1/6/14 from Oxford Online Dictionaries at http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/togetherness

Here is a very interesting article about the importance of community togetherness:

http://www.buzzle.com/articles/what-is-the-importance-of-a-community.html

Communication

Communication is the foundation of all human being interaction –  Retrieved 1/5/14 from http://www.communication-quotes.com/importance-of-communication/

This statement really resonates with me, human interaction does start with communication. In asking all the people I photograph to write down why they love Nelson I am getting them to communicate importance positive statements about their community.

I don’t need to tell you why it is important to have a positive outlook, there are thousands of articles written on this subject like this one here:

http://listdose.com/10-reasons-positive-attitude-outlook-towards-life-important/

 

Light Nelson is an event of community togetherness, it is a interactive fun event for all ages. I want to create a project which encompasses all of this, that celebrates the people who live in Nelson in a positive way.

Connection

My tutor and I met on Monday and he suggested I look into ‘six degrees of separation’

“Six degrees of separation is the theory that everyone and everything is six or fewer steps away, by way of introduction, from any other person in the world, so that a chain of “a friend of a friend” statements can be made to connect any two people in a maximum of six steps.” Retrieved 1/6/14 from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Six_degrees_of_separation

Two Degrees of Separation in New Zeal and?

http://www.stuff.co.nz/manawatu-standard/opinion/my-view-karl-du-fresne/6421101/Two-degrees-of-separation-in-NZ

I have often wondered how it is possible to meet someone who knows a friend of a friend and been left in aw off how crazy it seems. My project will have one hundred strangers in Nelson all photographed, their photographs will rotate in a loop on slide show. Much like life rotating round and round.

It was talked about exploring  perhaps three degrees of separation from Jessica (me) but Im not sure I can get that idea to come across in the slide show. That idea may be there, and an undercurrent. But it isnt what I will push to be the main theme.

Home

Your home will be the place you have the deepest affection for no matter where you are, – home is where the heart is. There are many reasons why your home is special to you, fond memories, security, warmth, happiness… I want to collect all those reasons and celebrate them.

 

Real people are most persuasive for products and services that require social approval –

– Retrieved 1/6/14 from http://career-advice.monster.com/in-the-office/workplace-issues/real-people-or-celebrities-in-ads/article.aspx

 The use of real people in my project is important so that the audience can relate. I will be photographing a cross section of society from young children to the elderly, financially secure people to people who are living on a lower income.

I haven’t found theorists as such to base my project on but I have found a lot of themes.

My main theme driving this project that I intend to portray is a celebration of Nelson, and the people in it. It is a very simple message, one that I think is appropriate for the entire community young and old. Light Nelson is a happy fun filled family event, I want to create something that encompasses the people of Nelson in a positive way.

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 603, Project 3 - Light Nelson, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

