Experimenting with techniques

This morning I had a trail run to see how difficult it would be to apply text or images onto a photograph. 

I am pleased to say it was rather straight forward. Considering I want to attempt 100 images I need it to be a fairly fast and efficient process.  

Here is something I made up in a few minutes. 

ImageI retrieved the image of the little girl from http://www.chrissymartinphotography.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/8-20-12-School-Portraits-DSLR-Web-3.jpg on 20/5/14

The writing was retrieved from http://fun-a-day.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/write-1.jpg

Im really happy with this effect. It was also very quick and easy… the longest part of process will be scanning the writing into the computer. 

Here is an image I tried with a baby and double exposure it was created very quickly. 

Image

The image of the baby was retrieved from http://www.hamptonsbabygear.com/wp-content/uploads/wpsc/category_images/Happy-Baby-Photo.jpg on 20/5/14

The image of Nelson was retrieved fromhttp://3.bp.blogspot.com/-3Y8pbpIVzqU/T9LwQcCqwEI/AAAAAAAAA08/LAT0mvAFzjE/s1600/IMG_6112.JPG 20/5/14

Im not very pleased with this image.. Im not sure that the the city scene looks right on a little baby.

 

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 603, Experimenting and Editing, Project 3 - Light Nelson. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Experimenting with techniques

  1. raggedpoet says:

    Hi Jess… I agree about the baby… just a thought… but is it ok to use images of others kids online? I know they were online bjt the places they came from may be breaking rules too. I would stick to your own or stock images to be safe.. just saying 🙂 Also if you get one of the NMIT iPads to borrow text on images is a doddle… also really easy in Photoshop.

  2. Hiya,
    Yes you are very right to say that no it wouldnt be right to use photographs of kids off the internet. I am getting parents signatures for any children I photograph for my project. I happened to have 5mins spare in the mac lab the other day when I made up these two experimental images with text. I didnt have any of my own images on hand so I just grabbed two from online.

    Thank you for your suggestions of ipad that is definitely another thought. I have done it a much trickier way lol.. but in hindsight that would def be a very easy way. – Although Im not sure you would get the same originality of handwriting as you do with pen and paper.

    Hope your project is all starting to come away for you and your group. 🙂

    • raggedpoet says:

      Thanks Jess… you would be surprised re the iPad… see if you can borrow one on Monday and I will show you :)!!!

      • I do have an ipad, but have now photographed 100 people and gotten 100 writings.. ! so will go through with PhotoShop now… But in hind sight I would’ve have considered that before photographing all the people. Although I do really love my trusty DSL Canon 60D, I can rely on it to get a good shot. Thank you Again 🙂

Leave a Reply

