Project 3: ‘Light Nelson – Habitat’

Today we have been given our third project for 603. It is called ‘Light Nelson – Habitat’

You are required to interpret and
represent the theme of ‘Habitat’ in a
personal or group contribution to
Light Nelson. During this 5 week
project you will be creating an
installation that will be presented to
the community during this years
edition of Light Nelson, which is due
to take place from the 11th to 13th of
July.

Retrieved from the Brief 12/5/14 http://ecampus.nmit.ac.nz/moodle/pluginfile.php/335591/mod_resource/content/1/light-nelson-introduction.pdf

My main discipline is photography so I would like to create something using this form of media. I have already ascertained that. Im not sure whether or not I want to go into a group or not. I feel there are pros and cons to each.

Individual Pros – I get to have full creative control, and I don’t have to worry about work load allegations and people not pulling their weight.

Individual Cons – Can involve a lot more work as I am having to do it all on my own.

Group Pros – Two or more brains are better than one. Can delegate to lighten the work load. Potential for a bigger more creative detailed work.

Group Cons – People not pulling their weight. Having to negotiate, people not agreeing with you, or not enough for everyone to do if it is a simple idea.

I talked with a few people from the class to see what their thoughts were and we decided we would go home and think about some ideas and get back to each other to decide on whether or not we will go in a group.

I have some photos I took from last years Light Nelson event that I took the kids to, here they are from my personal collection.

ImageImage

ImageImage

 

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 603, Project 3 - Light Nelson. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

