Decisions decisions.

After I wrote my contextual statement, I felt very moved by it. I really found it summed up how I was feeling when I created the work. I posted the statement/poem on my facebook photography page, I had already shared the images the week before. I had a lot of comments about how moving the words were and people saying they didnt quite ‘get’ the images before and didnt no what they were really about. They said the words really helped them and they enjoyed them with the images.

I was having a hard time trying to decide whether I should add the words to the images. All the feedback I got on here and facebook and from friends said the words enhanced the images. It was hard as when I started out I didn’t want the images titled as I didn’t want to pigeon people in to one idea by having a title. I wanted the images to speak for themselves and people to make what they want of them.

But then after writing the words I found they addressed a few of the common themes that were brought up in the group crits. They didn’t just mean one thing.

So in going with my gut and feedback I decided to add the words to the work. I thought about how to do this firstly thinking of a small business card size card down lower like there is in titles of art works at galleries. Then I thought that another block would be the best like reading a story left to right, it would become part of the images. I wanted the text very plain like that of a type writer, this works well nice and simple like the imagery.

I find that making decisions can be very very hard. But at the end of the day I went with my inner feelings and felt that the words summed up how I felt inside in regards to the images and what they represented for me the artist which is the most important thing.

Image

 

I am really in love with the glow that makes it look like light is coming from the blocks. This was a totally magically surprise and I think it really gives the work that punch to make it special.

 

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 603, Project 2 - Identity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

