Contextual statement / Title idea?

Today whilst getting the images printed I asked the lady behind the counter what her first thoughts were of the prints and how she interrupted them…

“A piece of meat”

Thats what she said, she thought the images were saying that me as a women feels like a piece of meat. 

This was so interesting as, believe it or not I had not thought of this idea.. which it is practically shouting! It is such an obvious interpretation.  

I was always thinking of the whole concept as the dead flesh symbolising the past and what is dead but still hanging on me and with me (the living flesh)

when I said this to the girl, she said ‘god thats deep’ she just thought of it first and foremost.. ‘piece of meat’

I am enlightened!

Its interesting as this was an original concept of mine. To create a work that represented women/me being used for my body as a sex object. Inadvertently I have created that! Im pretty stoked 🙂

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 603, Project 2 - Identity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Contextual statement / Title idea?

  1. Yeah, agreed, funny how a ‘contextual statement’ can make all the difference to a viewer. I had this experience where viewers would look at some photography and simply make up their own minds to what the concept would be and walk away with it, but in my opinion that’s missing the point.

    Gregory Crewdsons work appears as just a ‘still’ from a movie to the uninformed – but until its explained (‘detachment’, ‘longing’, ‘loneliness’…), that concept of ‘middle America’ gets bypassed – which is a shame – makes me wonder if art is too esoteric’ for the majority. But then again I guess it has to be otherwise it would not be art – right?! It’s interesting that art is “meant for the intended or informed” – and scares off the ignorant and unwilling, metaphor and simile should be used to great effect (just like what you have done here), without becoming obvious, I guess that is the very definition of a sophisticated visual art form… it’s to provoke that nagging flea at the back of your head until it bites ‘oh, I get it!’.

    Anyway, ramble over 🙂

  2. Great ramble! It is very true.

    I was interested at the crit, only one person got what I originally intended the works to say. But that doesnt worry me too much as I think its quite neat that it is something only certain people will get. I like that it is something with different meanings and its on the surface really simple but more complex the more you look at it, which is why I think Im not going to give it an obvious title.

Leave a Reply

