Tues 18th March progress report.

This morning I meet with Kay and presented her my ideas so far. She said these are very personal, which they certainly are. I was a bit nervous sharing them actually as they really are deep and raw.

Together we noticed a reoccurring theme through them all which is the concept of me carrying something – my childhood, past, demons,heart..  A set of photographs of me going along my day-to-day life carrying something be it a monster, big heart, dead flesh..

Kay told me to think about the one that most excites me, what one do I really think about the most. The image of Zhang Huan wearing the meat carcass is what excites me the most, it is what I keep thinking about and I can see myself doing that one. When I first saw it I thought about the dead flesh against the living flesh symbolisng the old/dead, past still being carried by the living/now.

Image This is a photograph I took last year in March ‘Poulpe & Me’ it is a photograph from my own collection.

What I like about the Zhang Huan influenced idea is that it tyes in and continues on from ‘Poulpe & Me’ nicely.

Kay gave me some feedback saying the concept is kind of ‘the other’ a thing that is part of me but not, the thing we carry with us, what we take with us.

She said I think about the juxtapositions of the body & things against it. The symbolism of the objects and their connotations. The body being out of places and the tension it creates is something to investigate.

I was really happy after my chat with Kay, I can see a clearer path now. I also have strong intent now for my work.

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 603, Project 2 - Identity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

