First group meeting.

Our first meeting consisted of going for a walk together around the Nelson CDB. Johnny took his camera and took snaps of all the places we saw and talked about.

The group suggested doing something at the Cathedral, lego light projected onto the side of the church and steps in the bricks. This I thought was cool… but what was the intent?

They also suggested Jesus and God making out! I said very controversial and would never be aloud.

Mural on top of a mural was also suggested. So that meant find a neat mural and produce a mural on top of it or a long side it to compliment or go with it. I wasnt so keen, as I didnt want to simply add on I wanted to create something of our own.

As we were walking past Starbucks I noticed a perfect flat plain wall that was right in the middle of town, it was manageable (all our other sites and ideas seemed to be on a very grand scale)

Seane really liked a bright green wall at Power Store… I liked it but couldn’t visualize anything there.

We took pictures of the council buildings a very controversial part of Nelson… could do something creative there.

I was excited about doing something on the house at the Mens Night Shelter.. the wall was white… and would be a great opportunity to say something cool. But the group werent so keen.

I do enjoy working as a group even though we all have different ideas and opinions I think its great to mix and have extra brain power and ideas.. Its also great when I come up with an idea.. to get thoughts on it both negative and positive.. thoughts that I hadn’t come up with.

We are going to meet up and talk about the sites next and try and decide on one. That will be hard as we found a lot of great sites.

About jessshirley1981

Hi there, Im a 33 year old mum of two, a 7 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. I am studying for the BA in Arts & Media part time, I have just finished L6 Studio this semester 2, 2014. My passion is photography, here is a link to my facebook photography page for those of you that are interested https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-Shirley-Photography/414300345298086
This entry was posted in A&M 603, Project 1 - Mural. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

